You are here

Trinidadian Poet Danielle Boodoo-Fortune Cops 2015 Hollick Arvon Prize

Danielle Boodoo Fortune wins Hollick Arvon Prize 2015

Poet and painter Danielle Boodoo-Fortuné has emerged the winner of the 2015 Hollick Arvon Caribbean Writers Prize. The young Trinidadian poet and fellow of the Cropper Writing Workshop has walked away with the £3000 cash prize, and more importantly, an opportunity to develop a collection of poetry through mentorship, as well as three days of networking with editors and publishers courtesy of the Arvon Foundation and Coleridge & White literary agency.

Boodoo-Fortuné was shortlisted for the 2015 prize along with fellow Trinidadians Elliot Bastien, and Shivanee Ramlochan as well as Bahamian Nicolette Bethel and British Virgin Islander Richard Georges.

The judging panel was chaired by Dr. Funso Aiyejina and comprised Ruth Borthwick, Chief Executive, Arvon, Professor Edward Baugh, poet and scholar, Jennifer Hewson literary agent Coleridge & White and Caroline Hollick representative of the Hollick Family Charitable Trust.

The 2015 prize was the third iteration of the Hollick Arvon award which was previously won by Barbara Jenkins for fiction (2013) and Diana McCaulay for non-fiction (2014). The prize was awarded at Old Fire Station on Saturday, May 2, 2015 at the Bocas Literary Festival. The 2015 Bocas Lit Fest began on Wednesday, April 29 and closes today, May 3, 2015.