You are here

Six Writers Shortlisted for Hollick Arvon Caribbean Writers Prize

And then there were six... The list of emerging writers vying for the inaugural Hollick Arvon Caribbean Writers Prize has been further narrowed to six candidates hailing from Trinidad and Tobago, Bermuda and the Bahamas.

Four of the shortlisted writers, Lisa Allen-Agostini, Vashti Bowlah, Barbara Jenkins, and Sharon Millar hail from the twin Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. Trinidad also gets another claim as Lelawatee Manoo-Rahming claims both the Bahamas and Trinidad. The sixth shortlisted writer is Angela Barry of Bermuda.

The competition attracted entries from sixty-five writers from six countries across the Caribbean. In March, a longlist of fourteen writers from six Caribbean countries was announced, and the shortlist was announced today, Monday, April 22, 2013.

The HAP is worth a total of US$15,000, including a cash award of US$4,500. The literary prize is intended to provide the winning writer with opportunities to advance a work in progress. As such, the prize includes a year of mentorship by an established author, the opportunity to network with literary professionals, as well as the attendance at a Arvon Foundation creative writing course of the writers choosing.

The winner of the Hollick Arvon Prize will be announced on April 27 during the the third installation of the  NGC Bocas Literary Festestival. The Bocas Lit Fest runs April 25-28, Port of Spain, Trinidad.