You are here

Edward Baugh, Barbara Jenkins and Harold Bascom Win Guyana Caribbean Prize for Literature

Edward Baugh, Barbara Jenkins & David Dabydeen Take Home Guyana Caribbean Prize

Guyana’s Harold Bascom, Jamaica’s Edward Baugh, and Trinidad and Tobago’s Barbara Jenkins walked away with the Caribbean awards in the recently concluded 2014 Guyana Prize for Literature. 

Bascom earned both the national and regional prizes for his play Desperate for Relevance which earned the Best Book of Drama prize in both categories. He was the only one of his countrymen to pull off that feat.

Baugh’s Black Sands (published by Peepal Tree Press) earned the Caribbean award for Best Book of Poetry while Jenkins’ short story collection Sic Transit Wagon (also published by Peepal Tree Press) drove off with the prize for Best Book of Fiction.

In addition to the regional prizes, five prizes were also awarded to Guyanese writers. 

David Dabydeen earned the award for Best Book of Fiction for Johnson’s Dictionary (Peepal Tree Press) while Subraj Singh earned the award for Best First Book of Fiction. The poetry prizes were won by Maggie Harris, who took home the award for Best Book of Poetry for 60 Years of Loving (Cane Arrow Press), and Stanley Niamatali who earned the award for Best First Book of Poetry for The Hinterlands (Caribbean Press). 

The 2014 Guyana Prize for Caribbean Literature was adjudicated by a panel chaired by Dr Stewart Brown (Chairman), Reader in the Centre of West African Studies, University of Birmingham, UK. He was accompanied by Rawle Gibbons playwright, theatre director, researcher and , drama anthologist and Prof Jane Bryce, author, lecturer, critic, and editor of Poui: Cave Hill Journal of the Arts

The winner was announced at an Awards Ceremony at the Pegasus Hotel, Georgetown on November 29, 2015.